Up and over

“The surface of the ocean was like perfect glass, and was perfect for shooting underwater,” says photographer Ben Thouard of his image of surfer Landon McNamara riding a wave in Teahupoo, Tahiti.

“I had been trying to get this shot for some time without much success. When I saw the wave coming, I dove under and turned back to look from behind the wave. The sun was coming from right through the lip of the wave, and I knew that I wanted to catch the surfer coming through the light,” he says.
Factors beyond his control came together to make the picture work, he says. “It’s not often that I get impeccable water clarity, no wind, good waves, and light all in one frame. The result ended up being pretty amazing!”
Thouard adds that, after spending his entire day underwater and shooting from below the surface, he had no idea who the surfer in this shot was. “I didn’t have time to check the pictures until I got home,” he says. “But thanks to social media, a year later, I was able to identify Landon in the photo.”
Reblogged from National Geographic

Leave a Reply

